File photo

File photo

Steve Bloom, Ron Mawaka Sr., and Dave Hansen will be inducted into the Fleet Hall of Fame in September as the latest fleet veterans to achieve the honor.

The three honorees will be recognized during the 2017 Automotive Fleet & Leasing Association (AFLA) Conference at the M Resort & Spa Casino in Las Vegas, on Sept. 18.

The honorees, which were selected through a public survey online, will be inducted during an award ceremony. Following their induction, the Fleet Hall of Fame will be comprised of 78 members. AFLA is the exclusive sponsor of the Automotive Fleet Hall of Fame.

Bloom, the former president of Enterprise Fleet Management, began his career with Enterprise in 1983 as a management trainee at an Enterprise Rent-A-Car branch in Southern California. Bloom eventually moved over to the retail leasing division in 1987. In 2001, Bloom was named senior vice president overseeing Enterprise Fleet Management, and was later promoted to president of Enterprise Fleet Management in 2012. Bloom retired in 2016.

Mawaka Sr., the founder of Fleet Response, began his fleet career with the foundation of Rental Concepts, Inc. in February 1986. The company provided temporary cars, trucks, and specialty vehicles to fleets nationwide. It eventually evolved into Fleet Response — a fully customized accident management, maintenance management, claims adjustment, salvage, subrogation, and safety service provider. Mawaka’s sons, Scott and Ron Jr., carry on his work at Fleet Response.

Hansen, the former general manager of GM Fleet & commercial Operations, joined General Motors in 1965 after graduating from high school, working in a GM assembly plant while attending college. A highlight of Hansen’s career includes leading the turnaround while serving as general manager of GM Fleet & Commercial Operations in the late 1990s and into the next century. After leaving GM, Hansen became COO for Tecstar, a second-stage manufacturer for GM, then assisted SCT with its fleet fuel economy software device.

The 2017 Fleet Manager of the Year, Fleet Executive of the Year, and Fleet Visionaries will also be announced at the AFLA 2017 award ceremony on Sept. 18. These awards are sponsored by Wheels Inc. and AFLA; The CEI Group; and Merchants Fleet Management, respectively.

Look for an in-depth overview of the three Fleet Hall of Fame Honorees in the October issue of Automotive Fleet magazine.

Originally posted on Automotive Fleet

About the author
Andy Lundin

Andy Lundin

Former Senior Editor

Andy Lundin was a senior editor on Automotive Fleet, Fleet Financials, and Green Fleet.

View Bio